Thursday, July 18, 2024
HomeHomeKapil Sibal Wins SCBA Presidency, Marks Fourth Term Victory

Kapil Sibal Wins SCBA Presidency, Marks Fourth Term Victory

Senior Advocate Kapil Sibal has emerged victorious in the election for the President post of the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA), securing 1,066 votes and defeating his closest competitor, senior advocate Pradeep Rai.

This marks Sibal’s fourth tenure as the SCBA President, having previously held the position three times. He announced his candidacy on May 8, contending against Priya Hingorani, Tripurari Ray, and Neeraj Srivastava.

Adish Aggarwala, also a Senior Advocate, currently serves as the association’s president, with Pradeep Rai as the Vice-president and Rohit Pandey as the Honorary Secretary.

A Harvard Law School alumnus, Sibal previously served as India’s additional solicitor general from 1989 to 1990 and was designated as a senior advocate in 1983.

In an interview with Bar & Bench, Sibal stressed the importance of lawyers in upholding the rule of law and the Constitution, urging unity within the legal fraternity and emphasizing the need to avoid political divisions.

Sibal’s past affiliations with a political party were noted, but he asserted that they did not interfere with his legal duties.

The Supreme Court had mandated reserved posts for women members in the SCBA’s executive committee, with the upcoming 2024-2025 elections designating the treasurer position for a female member.

The elections took place on May 16, with vote counting scheduled for May 18 and results announced on May 19.

Share your news, articles, deals, columns, or press releases with us! Click the link to submit and join our platform today.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments